Nothing happens before its time…

Hey, so it’s my first blog entry and just like everyone else who starts a blog, I had no idea what to do for my first one. Then I remembered an experience I had…

So basically there was a bookcase at my grandmother’s house and I’d always been fascinated by one particular book in it called “The Catcher In The Rye” by J.D. Salinger. I had no idea what it was about but it simply seemed fascinating to me. So I asked my grandmother to borrow a few books including that one, but when my mom saw it, she said I couldn’t read it yet and when I asked why she replied, “its not the right time, maybe when you’re older”. So I waited. Every now and again, I asked about it, and she kept telling me no. I could’ve gone and gotten myself a copy but I decided not to, just because I trusted my mom’s judgment. Then it happened…

One day, I asked about the book again and she finally said yes. Eagerly I read it, and I was disappointingly pleased! The story was dry and pointless, or so I thought! But above all, I understood why my mom didn’t want me reading the book before time. It was about someone like me; the main character was a sarcastic teen who simply walked around giving his satirical commentary on what he observed about the world he lived in and the people inhabiting it. He was quite a head case, really emotional and confused about life and really just at that crossroads in his life that most people eventually reach. You know the one, right on that bridge between adolescence and adulthood, trying to figure out if you’re ready to grow up, what growing up really means and how to achieve it.

I realized my mom didn’t want me to read the book simply because it was honest, not some massive connection of a fantasy that Hollywood and fictional prose create but it was subjectively the thought process and views of a real person without all the furnishings of lollipops and gumdrops. My mother didn’t think I’d reached that point in my mental development and frame of reference to understand its content, meanings and symbolism enough. But when I reached 16, the same age as the novel’s protagonist, I grasped it perfectly simply because I was living it, and my mother in her seemingly infinite God-given wisdom, knew at that point my reading the book would be okay. So, the moral of the story: nothing happens before its time!

With that being said, WELCOME TO MY BLOG!!! I’ve been thinking about doing this for a while, but I guess NOW is the time. Next time you’ll probably find out more about me…

but for now, its…
xoxo, from where my 7 dreams grow! ~ Rynzi

One thought on “Nothing happens before its time…

Leave a Reply

