Let go…

Let go...

I’m honestly not a very positive person by nature. I used to be that one person that always thought of the pending doom, and you couldn’t talk to me about silver linings because all I saw was the damn dark @$$ cloud hovering over me ready to literally rain on my parade.

In addition, I’ve never been one of those people who cared about people’s opinions of me. I used to be a people-pleaser at one point, but there came a time when I realized that I was sacrificing who I was and the things I loved for others, and I wasn’t okay with that. So one days I just stopped myself from doing that.

The problem with this however, was that when you decide to live a life for you based on what you think is good for you and your own opinion of yourself and you’re a bit (or in my case, A LOT) of a downer, that means you’re the only one that can be held accountable for how you see life and how you feel and what affects you.

With that being said, I realized how poisonous my negativity was to my entire being; I also realized that I had no one to blame for the effects of my negative thoughts but MYSELF. So from then on, I’ve tried not to be a damper so much. I’m not exactly little miss optimistic who considers the world full of possibilities and rainbows and gum-drops, but I look at the reality of a situation: both the negative and positive sides of it and then I try to highlight and find more instances of the good. It really did a world of a difference for me.

I tend to be really hard on myself, and I’m just like everyone else in the world. I struggle with self-esteem issues and having a positive self-concept, but this picture is basically what I try to do, not monthly, weekly or even daily, but INSTANTLY and CONSTANTLY! During every second of my day, I try to reaffirm myself as a person. I praise what I look like, how I behave and carry myself, how I treat others, my perspective on the world, my abilities (and lack thereof…LoL!) and the decisions I make. I encourage myself and try to let go of those thoughts that only serve to make me depressed (yeah, I don’t just do sad…I do depressed!), angry, worrisome, insecure and just all around pessimistic.

And let’s not forget an example that quite a few of us might have come across in recent times. It’s that song from one of Disney’s newest animated movies “Frozen”, called “Let it Go”. Basically, the older sister and newly crowned queen, Elsa’s frigid powers of cryokinesis (the magical ability to create ice and snow) have been revealed and she has accidentally cast the kingdom into an eternal winter. Having done this she flees in fear! In the seclusion of the mountains, she frees herself of her restraints and she erects her icy fortress using her powers! It is at this point that the catchy empowering tune is sung! In that instant she frees herself, accepts her powers and seemingly finds peace.

So, maybe this is something you can try in your own life. Let go of the negativity; all it does is continuously break you down over time, until one day you reach a point so low you have to really sit and wonder how you got there. Instead embrace those good thoughts that will enrich you and build you up, and see how different things will be! I guarantee you that your mind and body will thank you for it! ;)

I let go of the negative thoughts by coming on here and writing! It doesn’t matter if I have a a lot to say or little or even if anyone is listening. I write from my heart and my mind (where my 7 dreams grow, get it?) and I put it out there and it makes me feel good. It doesn’t matter if I’m leaving an encouraging word or venting about my life. I STILL WRITE and it gives me strength to face another day, even if that’s just because that means the possibility of another blogging topic! LoL! Can you see the effect of positivity at work? I really hope so.

Anyway, that’s all for now…

xoxo, from where my 7 dreams grow ~ Rynzi

Leave a Reply

