My Mask…

My Mask...

So funny enough, I quite like this quote not just because it comes from a movie that can be deemed as revolutionary in it’s promoted mode of thinking, but simply because it rings true.

I, myself, understand the relevance of, convenience of and at times, the necessity for a mask to be worn in order for truth to reign. What do I mean?

In terms of relevance of the mask, sometimes with the world we live in, it is not easy for people to speak up about the different views they hold due to sometimes harsh criticisms (to put it mildly) they may end up being subjected. So the concept of the mask is here to stay because even though the world and certain countries seem to exist and promote freedom, the reality is just the opposite as proven when people decide to speak up and against what is happening.

Regarding the convenience of the mask, it is easy for you to say what you really want when you don’t have to bare the backlash for it because of this disguise has afforded you that escape route so to speak. Many of us do not see how much we where the mask for this reason but here’s an example. Many of us are insecure and we lack confidence in ourselves, but we put on this charade of the polar opposite when we put on our masks and go out into the world. If you’re in school, it may be to fit in and so on with your friends, and if you’re in the work world, it may be to gain the respect of colleagues or your boss. Sometimes, we are people-pleasers and use the mask to do it. We exude what we think/know they want to see. Whatever the case may be, I’m sure it just feels good to be able to portray this particular image as you see it fit and drop it when it suits you. Sounds familiar, right? I thought so.

Lastly, you may where a mask for the sake of necessity. Some people need the mask to do the opposite of wearing it for convenience. They don’t use the mask to hide away who they are, but rather use the mask to put it on show for the world to see, in a seemingly “safe” way. I think I relate to this one most of all.

When most people start a blog, they publicize and advertise it to everyone they can to try rack up their followers. I, on the other hand, did no such thing! I have not told any friends that I blog, and the 2 or 3 I might’ve mentioned it to, i didn’t tell them the name of the blog or even hit what they should search for. In fact, when I set this blog up, the publicize feature was on via my linked Twitter account, and every time I would reblog something oe make a new post, I’d frantically go over to my twitter and delete that tweet, before anyone could notice. (Thank God I have unobservant followers and friends…LoL!)

It’s not that my blog is a secret, you know, because that’s not at all what I’m trying to do. But I feel the need to speak my mind about whatever and whoever I please right now. I would like to feel secure in the fact that if you read what I write, I’m flattered and very grateful because at least I can know that you didn’t do it because you’re my friend and I asked you to, but instead because something I said must have caught your attention and resonated with you in some way. This writing mask also gives me the freedom to speak unphased and not have to look over my shoulder worrying about who’s offended and is coming to get me (not like I quite care, because I know eventually someone will find this blog and then all hell will break loose and I will sit back with my lemonade in hand sipping and still writing away).

I am most myself when I write and speak from behind this mask. I am loud, confident and unapologetic in stating my views and opinions. I am the ‘me’ I have always wanted to be. I have an idea. I AM an idea. I am -8- bulletproof -8-.

movies_quotes_v_for_vendetta_1440x900_wallpaper_Wallpaper_1280x1024_www.wallmay.net

So, to you strangers (who may possibly soon become friends) who read my posts and take the time to like them or ponder on them for even the slightest moment, thank you. I don’t know who are and you really don’t know me either, but that’s okay because none of that matters. The words I speak are what is really important, and the fact that you have taken the time to listen to me speak through my mask.

Anyway, I’ve gotta run now. It’s 10:15 am where I am. I have my Creative Writing elective at 1 pm in which I have a short story of 1000-3000 words to present, which hasn’t been written yet, and i have to take a 1 – 1 1/2 hour commute into account. Wish me luck! LoL!

xoxo, from where my 7 dreams grow ~ Rynzi

Leave a Reply

