Not So Straight…

So…falling off form, has that ever happened to you? You know, you’re doing hot and things are going well in that arena and then you just seem to stumble and mess it up. Whether in a sport or whatever, I’m sure we’ve all slipped up at one point or another. I’m not so sure where I’m heading with this entry but just work with me here please, okay?

My mom put this book in front of me and told me that she expects me to finish it (like I didn’t have other things on my agenda, but anywhooo…) and she gave me a time span to get it done in! It’s called Tomorrow Begins Today by Alf Lohne and it’s basically one of those books that you’d find in the Self-Help/Inspirational/Motivational section of your local bookstore if you’re into that kind of thing. Reading the book, I love it so far, because the author has really brought across some very relevant points in an easy to digest and entertaining way. The unfortunate part of this however, is the fact that in reading the different sections and chapters of the book, I feel like I’ve done a thoroughly effective job…at doing the absolute opposite of everything the book advises. And here’s the real kick: I’M ONLY AT CHAPTER 3! =/ (UPDATE: I still haven’t read any further than chapter 3 because #shithappens)

Now that’s just sad and deeply depressing, if I do say so myself. The most unfortunate part though, is that I took all these steps in the wrong direction, down the wrong road WHOLEHEARTEDLY. I took these steps by learning extremely valuable and true life lessons, but applying them in PROBABLY the worst way. Due to this fact, these steps have proven to be the death of me! Or at least the academic death of me, because as a 21-year-old student, living under my parents’ roof, my whole life is technically school and now it’s up in smokes. Of course, I’m just exaggerating. but it has left me mighty confuzzled.

You see, here’s the reality of the situation: Being from Jamaica and a pretty conservative christian family, I hear about “walking the Straight and Narrow” quite often. Most of the times when I hear this is either some old-timer around telling a young ‘un in reference to keeping out of trouble, or some religious person telling someone else with regard to their spiritual journey. You see, where I really got it wrong was with which spelling of the word being referred to. It wasn’t S-T-R-A-I-GH-T, but rather S-T-R-A-I-T! You can guess how dumb I felt, but I blame school for that one, because I honestly don’t remember STRAIGHT and STRAIT being on vocab list of homophones in prep school.

Anyway, the spelling made a world of difference.

Definition of “strait”: (adj) “used in reference to a situation characterized by a specified degree of trouble or difficulty.”

So what all these folks had been saying all along, was to stay on that difficult path, in spite of the trouble you’ll face because you’ll be better for it. It’s bound to have many sharp turns and obstacles, but that’s where you ought to be and it is in overcoming all its hindrances, that you will rise above and succeed in whatever it is you set out to do.

There’s another self-help book, which resigns itself to this concept. You guys might have heard about it or even read it yourselves. I speak of psychiatrist’s Dr. M. Scott Peck’s publication The Road Less Traveled, in which he suggests ways in which confronting and resolving problems, a painful process most people try to avoid, can lead to greater self-understanding and spiritual growth. He also alludes to the fact that although it is the road less traveled, it’s worth the journey in the end.  

Personally, this is something that needs to remain at the forefront of my mind, especially in these recent times when everything around me seems to be going haywire. I guess it rings true that the STRAIT path really isn’t so STRAIGHT after all.

xoxo, from where my 7 dreams grow…

~Rynzi

Leave a Reply

