Day 2

So…Here we are again. Back in this awkward position where I have to explain to you guys why I’ve been MIA, especially after making some sort of a commitment to not do this exact thing. But in my defense, Utech is a fassy and some plans that had been uncertain up until that point finally manifested and things just went up in the air.
So a great friend of mine from high school Euranique (pronounced YOU-RA-NEEK…lol, love you girl), who to be honest, I wish I was still as close to, read my Day 1 post and decided to commit to the challenge. Check out Eura’s blog here!
She commented on my Day 1 post and asked me where my other 30 days are. Then she did that thing where the “student” surpasses the “teacher” in the sense that, she then got her DAY 2 blog post up and I was like “whoa, whoa, whoa there!”. So, not wanting to be outdone and because she’s motivated to try and pick up where I left off, I will try to finish the rest of these posts…from my desk here at my summer job…in the office…at a co-ed residential summer camp…in another country… Did all of that throw you for a loop? Because it has turned my life upside down!
So here’s the story…Remember when I mentioned that Utech was driving me nuts with that last assignment. Well it continued for A WHILE. Then shortly after or during that time, I can’t remember anymore, I got through with my visa to work to do something I’ve always wanted to do: go to summer camp! Now anyone who knows me, knows I love camp! I’ve been attending church/pathfinder camps for years, and it’s the highlight of my year. That week away from home immersed in nature with friends who are like family, running wild and challenging yourself! It’s the best thing in the world! I mean, my favorite movie of all time is the 1998 version on of “The Parent Trap” which premiered my girl LiLo! So obviously, camp is a big deal to me!
I had wanted to work at a summer camp 2 years ago but that didn’t work out…until now! So I’m here doing that, finally! It was a whole task with that because I didn’t get the visa with much time to spare so I had to push everything off to the side and get ready to catch a flight and work overseas. Then as soon as I got here, we hit the ground running with the training and all of that. Therefore, my time and ability to write has been terribly impeded. But I’m gonna try to fit it in here somehow.

DAY 2 – Write about the most important day of your life. 

For some people the most important day of their lives is ushered in with grand fanfares and a whole shebang. For some, it’s a graduation,being able to celebrate finally conquering that hurdle of earning a certification; for others, it’s their wedding day and finally being able to be publicly declare your love for someone you care about and be joined for in love to them. If you’re of a more religious persuasion, it may be the day that you chose to convert to your religion and accept a deity into your life. That’s great for all those people but let me tell you about the most important day of my life…

Well, I had set my alarm for 6AM that morning because I had planned to be extremely productive that day. That jolted awake when the alarm sounded, and shut it off as best as i could, but we all know that when you’re groggy, you only get as far as the snooze button. I did that for a few rounds trying as much as possible to ignore my responsibilities. When my brain finally decided it was about time to come back to life, my eyelids fluttered opened.

The morning light flooded in through the open blinds that I had neglected to close the night before, suspending specks of dust in the sun’s rays. I lingered a while watching the flecks dance like pixie dust, before I pushed back the thick cheetah printed VS blanket and the quilted homemade blanket that cocooned me, and sat up in the bed. The frigid morning air pricked my skin. With a big inhale, i took it all in and let it all me up before releasing it back to its molecular friends. The bed next to me remained unkept and empty as my roommate had decided to stay away the night before. I relished the peace. I had been missing that feeling of solitude you feel in moments alone. I enjoyed the fullness the room had with just me and my thoughts. I reached for my phone again which now read 8:23, sending me into a mad rush around my room to ready myself for the day. If i didn’t get it together in the next 5 minutes, I was sure to be late!

Knowing myself to know that this exact situation would very possible play out, the night before, i had laid out my clothing and made a game plan on how I’d conquer it, so I sprung into action. First I dressed in my jeans and white t-shirt that read “COACH” on it. Next I grabbed my sweatshirt and tied it around my waist for easy access since the temperature in the this place confuses my nervous system and can go from one extreme to the next. After that, I grabbed my “hygiene essentials” and tossed them into my backpack that I never leave without and with that, I was out the door.

I ran down the hill, past the Ponderosa, into the office building and straight into the bathroom to finish putting myself together, after greeting my colleagues from afar.

Fast forward to this very moment, here I am writing this post for you guys. I’ve taken a few breaks to do my actual job like answering phone calls and sending emails and taking campers to the health center among many other things.

But the point is: Today is the most important day of my life. Not because anything monumental happens but simply because I was blessed enough to see it. The way I see it, every day and everything that happens contributes to who I am as a person, and without all the little seemingly trivial instances, we would be drastically different people. And to be honest, I think it was pretty monumental that I managed to get out of bed this morning and make it into the office in less than 10 minutes.

When I made the decision to come to this camp to work, it was a pretty average day, but I can feel this whole experience molding me. I can feel myself developing opinions and drawing conclusions about certain things about myself and about others and that’s a big deal! And who knows? Maybe something truly phenomenal will happen during the rest of the day considering that it’s only 2:33 PM as I try to finish this post up. So we’ll just have to wait and see…but the way I see it, every day should be considered the most important day of your life, based on the large and small decisions you make. And with that, I think I’m gonna go out tonight and tomorrow for my day off and make some pretty bad ones…

xoxo, from where my 7 dreams grow,

~Rynzi

Word count for the actual challenge section: 786! Yeah baby!

2 thoughts on “Day 2

Leave a Reply

