Reading List

Petals, look at how far we’ve come!

So I’ve been on a bit of a reading hiatus ever since completing the most recent installment of a book series I’m overly invested in. Like you know when you read those last words and realize that you have to leave that world for a while, but you’ve been so enthralled by it that you have to question your whole existence? No? Just me? Okay…

But recently, a coworker of mine, who’s an avid reader, shared some classics with me (namely the complete Brothers Grimm collection) so I’m re-energized and I feel like it’s a good time to draw you into that world; the only world where I’ve always felt like there’s a place for me.

A few weeks ago, my friend Eura posted her favourites Book List to date, and I thought I’d give you some insight into mine as well. So, in no particular order, let’s get started:

  1. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

rye_catcher

Talk about coming full circle! My very first blog post was actually about my encounter with this book, so you can read about it here. Basically the book is about sixteen-year-old Holden Caulfield and his interpretation of life exploring themes of alienation and loss of innocence, which explores when he is expelled from his private school and decides to pass time until he has to return home and tell his parents. To be honest, I’m not 100% sure why I like this book, but I think the part I appreciate most is its realness. The protagonist isn’t pretentious or perfect; he’s barely even likable. He’s literally that guy who says what everyone is thinking and is generally highly critical of the world around him though he chooses not to voice his outlook most of the time. He instead observes, and draws his own conclusions, picking brains when he feels the need to get more information or just to get a rise out of someone. He is troubled and he has issues, but he is real.

  1. Anne Frank: The Diary of a young girl by Anne Frank

the-diary-of-a-young-girl-by-anne-frank

This was another one of those books that defines a time period in my own life. You see, I had always heard of Anne Frank and had wanted to know her story, so my very attentive parents gifted me the book of her diary for my thirteenth birthday. It was a dense book to me. I remember starting it and putting it down after a while multiple times, because I just wasn’t able to find the time to read it. This was because I had my own life to be writing about (I was trying to journal and failing miserably). The irony was that it took me about 2 years to read the book, cover to cover, in its entirety, and that’s how long Anne Frank was able to journal for. She wrote from age thirteen to fifteen; I read for the same span.

One of my favourite quotes is by Anne Frank and it encouraged me to write from very early on, because it seemingly affirmed a notion I already held but hadn’t yet realized that I related so deeply to, since it was before I decided to “take writing seriously” (or as seriously as you can for someone who has a degree in something completely unrelated).

“Paper has more patience than people”.

Best believe that since reading those words, I stopped trying to share my sorrows and chose instead to turn to the pen, and write my woes away.

  1. Divided Kingdom by Rupert Thomson

1165165

There is honestly no way for me to describe this book and effectively do it justice! This is a dystopian, but not quite like any of the others you’ve read; or at least, not in my opinion. Basically, years in the future the United Kingdom has been divided into four factions based on the four humors, which are linked to specific personality traits. The protagonist is taken from his family at a young age and sorted into his humor where he starts a whole new life, but something happens causing him to go in search of his memories which lead him on whirlwind journey through the factions and a deeper understanding of the system, how it works, its real effects and to who he really is.

 

  1. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

tashatudorthesecretgardencover

This 1911 novel tells of young Mary Lennox and her life, after losing her parents, she is sent to live in her Uncle’s gloomy mansion on the wild English moors. Lonely and of crude countenance, she wonders around the vast estate and uncovers many secrets, including a garden, hidden and forbidden for all to enter. With some help, hard work and a bit of magic, both the garden and little Mary’s heart seem  to be healed and grow. This book has always been one of those “awww” kinds of books to me. It shows how important little things like friendship, hard work and having faith are. I think it’s also where my little fondness for flowers and gardens may have come from, besides my mother. I believe that we have magic here, in our little secret garden, hidden and tucked away in a corner of the internet, and that we can grow any and everything our hearts desires together!

  1. The Arcana Chronicles by Kresley Cole

poison-princess-9781442436657_hr20759641deadofwinter

arcana-rising

 

This one was introduced to me by my best friend, Brandon, and Lord knows I’ll be forever grateful! So much so, that I’ve ended up leaving Brandz behind in this series just gobbling the books right up! I NEVER thought I’d ever be into a book like this, but I AM HERE FOR IT! It’s so funny that the when my friend first introduced me to the book, my first thought was “why would he send this to me? I don’t read romance!” just because I fell for the age old mistake of judging a book by it’s cover. But I’m so glad I gave it a chance.

134503391

This was the cover of the 1st book my friend send to me, which ALMOST made me not give the series a try!

Author Kresley Cole ushers into the world as we know it heading toward it’s end . We watch through 16-year-old Evangeline Greene’s eyes as life in her Louisiana town drastically changes. In this post-apocalyptic realm, twenty-two normal but chosen teenagers who are endowed with special gifts and abilities, battle as the Major Arcana of a deck of tarot cards, brought to life in this ancient game between good and evil. Filled with riveting action, the mysticism of Tarot cards, breathtaking romance, and beautifully vivid writing, this book is an absolute treat! Like seriously guys, this is the one that has me WAITING for the next installment! I’ve literally been stalking the series’ website waiting to pre-order the next segment. I am so serious about this series that I couldn’t get access to the third book Dead of Winter, so I used my 1 Audible credit to listen to it, and that just made it a whole new experience! Bonus: Book 4, Day Zero, is epic! It gives the accounts of the Flash from the perspective of other Major Arcana, some we’ve already met and some we are still yet to encounter. You’re sure to see these characters in a whole new light, so DON’T SKIP THIS ONE!

day-zero-1

  1. Anything John Green, especially Looking for Alaska

61tepxqm9wl

Now to be fair, I’ll admit that I’ve only read The Fault In Our Stars, Paper Towns and Looking for Alaska so far. I started Will Grayson, Will Grayson but have just failed to keep reading, but LFA caught me. I think that was because I felt like I was Alaska, and still am (like seriously, it was my nickname and still is depending on who you ask about me and that was BEFORE John Green was popular). Now I knot that relating to Alaska is probably not the best impression I could give, but I just really related to her. She was imperfect and troubled, but she was also fun and alive, and most importantly she was real. The book also deals with grief and coming to terms with the reality of the people in our lives by marrying the concepts we have of them to who they truly are. The journey that the Miles and his friends go on was handled in a way I think was real and true to the resilience of the teenagers they were and their group dynamic. Also, shout out to Paper Towns! Even though both book and the movie, got mixed responses, I found it delightful.

And there you have it folks! My round up of a few of my all-time favourite books. Hope you enjoyed getting my feedback on these and they’ve peeked your interest. Please, take a sec to nerd out with me in the comments about your love of reading. If you haven’t read any of these books, check them out! If you have read any of them, let me know what you thought of them! And feel free to share a few suggestions from your personal library with me; I’d love to know what you’re into.

xoxo, from where my 7 dreams grow…

~Rynzi <3

8 thoughts on “Reading List

    • Yeah, it was tedious for me too…but it was also so rewarding because I felt like I grew with her through her writing!

Leave a Reply

