Writing Challenge #2: Day 5

Thank God that today’s topic is lighter than yesterday’s! Whew! 🤦🏽‍♀️ *is relieved if you can’t tell*

As soon as I saw this topic, my little list came flooding into my mind; but, I wasn’t sure that the foods crossing my mind constituted traditional “comfort foods”. So I made my way to the most reliable informational resource for all your formal, academic research needs: Wikipedia! 😂

According to good old Wiki,

The term comfort food has been traced back at least to 1966, when the Palm Beach Post used it in a story: “Adults, when under severe emotional stress, turn to what could be called ‘comfort food’—food associated with the security of childhood, like mother’s poached egg or famous chicken soup.” They are believed to be a great coping mechanism for rapidly soothing negative feelings.

Well I mean, if Wikipedia says so, I guess it can’t be wrong! 🤷🏽‍♀️ I’m joking of course…kinda…#lazieststudentever #alternativefacts #imagreatstudent #ijusthatetheattendancepart

Anyway, so now that I knew for sure what was being asked, I realized my list was totally appropriate, although unconventional. So let me take you through my top 5:

1. Chips (specifically banana chips) – So, banana chips is a pretty common snack food here in Jamaica. You can get it anywhere, from in a supermarket, to vendors on the side of the road. I’ve been obsessed with it since childhood in my school days. My family was pescatarian and therefore, the available lunch options at school didn’t quite accommodate me. So, I had to carry packed lunches. Sounds simple enough, right?

The thing is, kids don’t have filters. I remember settling in for lunch with my meal, whatever it was, and having my classmates ask me what I was eating, why I didn’t buy lunch and why it looked and smelt weird, which to be fair, sometimes it did. I mean, the integrity of a tuna sandwich that has traveled an hour by public bus and taxi in the lunch-kit of a toddler, sitting snugly between water bottles and juice boxes for half the day, was questionable to say the least. With all the comments and questions about my lunch, I wasn’t inclined to partake anymore.

But, my mom always packed me a snack, in particular: banana chips. Sometimes there would be other snacks like peanuts or cookies, but that was ALWAYS there. I resorted for quite some time to only eating my banana chips and drinking my water and juices because those weren’t uncommon and I didn’t feel embarrassed about them.

Until now, my snack of choice is banana chips, I’m not fond of sharing it and my preferred way to eat it, is drenched in ketchup! (Like think French fries, but flat and crispy. Same concept! Not a big deal!) Don’t question it. It is what it is. I’m 24, so this has been going on forever and won’t be changing, EVER.

screen-shot-2017-05-09-at-11-21-22-am

2. French fries (sometimes in combination with a milkshake) – Speaking of French fries, yeah, I eat WWWAAAYYY more than I should. I think the thing with those in particular is their warmth (usually, because I’m not opposed to eating them cold). The thing is that when I was younger, my parents weren’t fans of fast food and they still aren’t. We’d get fast food on very rare occasion and when we did, it was the best day ever!

With time, fries became one of those things I’d buy after a particularly stressful day to either lift my spirits or congratulate myself. I especially did this going through university. Big presentation? Fries and a milkshake. Failed a test? Fries and a milkshake. Aced a test? Fries and a milkshake. Relationship problems? Fries and a milkshake. Chilling with friends? Fries and milkshake. Period cramps? Fries and a milkshake. Heading home and wanting an after school snack? Fries and a milkshake to go! I’m a disaster. But hey, when you’re a disaster and writing about it online for the world to see? C’mon! *DJ Khalid voice* You smart! Major key alert! 🔑😉 lol!

3A. Milk-based sweet treats – I’m just like everyone else. When I’m stressed, I eat my problems, or at least I started doing that around 2011 or so. And just like the add goes:

disguisedobviouscob-max-1mb

It. Me. Seriously. Chocolate. Cake. Ice-cream. Yogurt. You name it, if you put it in my system, I’ll be significantly more pleasant #Facts. Nowadays, my preference is:

img_7644
Honestly, you can use it tie me! I won’t fight you! Promise!

 

gralic_crust_veggie_pizza

3B. Savory foods – I like anything that includes something tomato-based. Particularly pasta and pizza. Why? My diet has always had savory foods. They’re just appealing to my appetite and make me feel good.

1

4. Warm milk (or warm beverages in general)  – Yup, it’s different from milk-based products in 3A because of the temperature. The way these work is that they’re soothing to me. I always describe myself like a baby when it comes to this one. You know like when you have an infant and you need to put them to sleep, what’s the process you go through?

Step 1: bathe them.

Step 2: feed and burp them.

Step 3 (if they didn’t doze off during step 2): swaddle them and rock them or sing to them, etc.

Well, that works for me too. And on my most anxiety riddled days, I actually put myself through this process myself. I get home and put on the kettle. While the kettle is boiling, I take a shower. When the kettle whistles, I mix my milk and take it to bed. Sit in bed, in the dark and drink my warm milk until it’s done. Then I roll over and sleep peacefully. No lie.

So if you see me with a warm beverage of any sort, odds are that my nerves are shot and I’m genuinely trying to calm down. I make tea at home on the hottest days and sit by the window and drink it because it’s just comforting! Especially with a scented-candle (click here to check some out) lit: absolute bliss!

976178cd7daa7cba9e69c3570e531342-skippy-peanut-butter-peanuts

5. Peanut Butter – This one is 100% confined to at home consumption and indulgence. I think it’s because with the whole packed lunch situation when I was younger, Mom used to send peanut butter sandwiches to school and I just wasn’t a fan! They’d get squished and be hella dry and thick. But at home, I used to sneak into the jar with grab a spoon and steal a huge dallop sometimes, as a midnight snack. I’d literally just sit there, licking the spoon of peanut butter like a lollipop. And I still do that now. I’m partial to the chunky kind, but in a pinch, I’ll settle for creamy!

9bacdd0216283101fd9290e368ecb416-arizona-tea-best-drinks

Bonus: Arizona! This one has no rhyme of reason. It just is. Like the rising and setting of the sun, and the rainbow after showers of rain. I ALWAYS have at least one can of Arizona in my freezer at home (I buy them in threes). When I get to that last one, I don’t drink it until the stock has been replenished. So right now, there is one lone Arizona at the back of my freezer (kiwi strawberry flavored, to be specific) because I have not been to the supermarket as yet; and as tempting as it is, I can’t bring myself to open it until I secure 3 more.

Just like that, you now know me all too well and what exactly to use to get me to sell my soul. And you’ve learned that I’m the most weird kind of normal there is…or maybe I’m the most normal kind of weird? Guess it’s up for debate! Sound off in the comments, petals.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m currently writing this at 12:08, my whole family has retreated to their designated areas and I’m alone with the access to the condiment cupboard. I think you know what’s about to go down. 😏

 

xoxo, from where my 7 dreams grow,

~ Rynzi <3

One thought on “Writing Challenge #2: Day 5

Leave a Reply

