Writing Challenge #2 – Day 10

Yes, I’m doing Day 10 WAAAY beyond Day 10 because life happened, and happens and is happening and will happen…cool? Cool. And with that, let us proceed.

guilty pleasure: (noun) 
something, such as a film, television programme, or piece of music, that one enjoys despite feeling that it is not generally held in high regard.
“everybody has a guilty pleasure—for me, it has to be mid 70s disco”

 

Tricky question which may surmount to an extremely short post (by comparison to my usual word count) because I’m not sure that I have any guilty pleasures, but not for the reason you might think.

I don’t think I have any guitly pleasures, not because other people seem to like the things I like just as much as I do, but rather because I am genuinely so out of touch with “cool” things and generally don’t share the things I like with anyone these days, I have no idea of it’s a “guilty pleasure” or not. Get it?

For example, if I like a particular show, I don’t know if it’s a “guilty pleasure” or not, because I don’t know if anyone else watches it.

Or I may like something that everyone else likes it, but my timing will be different. Like with shows once again, For example, I like Game of Thrones just as much as everyone else, but I was in ZERO rush to watch the leaked episodes, and actually waited until the middle of the week to watch them, just because that’s when I felt like watching them.

Also, the thing with having a “guilty pleasure” is the guilty aspect of it; having interest in this particular thing seems to come with some level of regret and shame. But I have NO SHAME when it comes to the things I like, so once again, I’m not paying attention to whether they’re common or not. So it’s a known fact that I love all things Disney in a very obsessive way, and I’m unfazed by people’s opinions of that.

Especially because the people who care about you, aren’t critical of these things. So when I delay watching the most recent episode of Game of Thrones, I was still able to text one particular friend to discuss the episode and she was ready and willing and didn’t even comment on the fact that I was “late to the party”. Or when it comes to my Disney obsession, it’s a common things for friends to tag me in or message me Disney related content like memes or theory videos or whatever because they know I like that stuff.

So no guilty pleasures for me I guess; I just like the things I like and I do the things I do without any remorse: like sleep for the entire day and only get out of bed to shower and hunt for food.

But if you want to know the last show I binged on Netflix, I can easily tell you that was “Big Mouth” which was crude and disgusting, and I loved every second of it! 10/10 would recommend! If you’re into Family Guy, it’s right up you alley, but if you’re going to watch it in the presence of others, I would I recommend earphones because it’s inappropriate AF! I watched it in one night and am completely ready for Season 2, which I think I will choose to enjoy with my Netflix partner, while he’s high and I’m drunk, which will make for even more viewing pleasure! But beware Episode 6…seriously…beware!

I also enjoy watching Fresh Prince and Friends reruns at night of Nickelodeon. If not, then I usually either The Mentalist, The Closer or CSI on TNT and an absurd amount of NCIS. Or I’ll flick to whatever is on HGTV; and yes, I am one of those people who fully judges the decisions people make regarding both their homes and lives. Seriously, first there’s:

7uraqyi

then they’re like:

9aba465431df266f36635f8166b1debc-hgtv-image

and when they finally buy a house:

anigif_enhanced-10345-1394903933-4

It’s all so stressful!

Anything else? Hmmm…for music choices I’m currently into anything nostalgia inducing. Reference list as of late is as follows:

 

Literary wise, I haven’t been quite bookish recently except for one particular read which I’ve delayed completing but I should be fixing that soon…hopefully. However, I listened to the audio version of the book The Good Guy by Dean Koontz and recommend it in a heartbeat! It’s an oldie, having been published in 2007 but it was so good! Also, The Protoge by Stephen Frey is another oldie but goodie, published 2006 but still great!

And that’s the end of that, I guess! If you come away with anything from this day, I hope it’s simply to like what you like and let that be enough!

 

xoxo, from where my 7 dreams grow,

~ Rynzi <3

 

Leave a Reply

