Writing Challenge #2: Day 11

This one seemed pretty easy until I remembered these things:

  1. I don’t have an iPod (this particular version of the writing challenge is obviously outdated…or is it?)
  2. I stream my music WHEN I listen to any and that’s specific to category; therefore, I have no control of the playlist.
  3. The music I have on my actual phone is outdated..like this challenge.
  4. I DON’T REALLY LISTEN TO MUSIC ANYMORE!

Anyone who has known me more than 2 years and read that last bit is probably in need of CPR at this point, so if you’re nearby any of them, please provide first response. I’ll wait…

It’s true though, I don’t listen to music half as much as I used to, which may seem hard to believe if we have history and you’ve seen me recently with headphones on. Well, confession: I wear headphones to deter people from talking to me. Yes, you’re right; I am scum, but that is a thing that I actually do. In case you’re wondering, it’s highly effective especially when combines with an outfit of full black, a cap of any sort and RBF (resting bitch face).

Honestly, I don’t know if there’s a particular reason for the fact that I don’t listen to music anymore. I feel like it was a kind of silent resistance to lots of things: life, and I didn’t like the new music that was becoming common and I wasn’t sure where to find the music I was craving and iPhones are actually a bit of a hassle if you don’t have a macbook as well and a whole host of other reasons, so I just opted for silence. Where I did listen to music, I would choose streaming platforms like Spotify or just pull up YouTube while working on my laptop.

Anyway, from the dated collection on my phone which are all songs that I purchased from iTunes, here are the first 10 songs, and the stories that accompany them:

  1. Best Day of My Life – American Authors

Just a great feel good song! I saw them in concert in 2014 in Darien Lake, New York when they opened for The Script and One Republic and their stage presence is great! It was so good to just dance around with strangers vibing to the music! It was amazing I even made it to this concert because I actually worked that day at Darien Lake Theme Park on a roller coaster from 10AM to what was supposed to be 4PM, but turned into 7PM WHEN THE CONCERT WAS SCHEDULED TO START because they were short staffed. But by God’s grace, the concert’s start time was delayed and I was able to run “home” and freshen up and make it back down in time to catch this song live! No Regrets!

2. Love Runs Out – One Republic

One Republic’s Native album is one of my favorite albums of all time, and actually I pretty frequent listen to me (just not on my phone). As I said before, I actually had the pleasure of being at one of their concert stops on their tour in 2014. It was my second concert ever and IT WAS ABSOLUTELY BLOODY FREAKING TRANS-MOTHERLOVIN-CENDENT! Ryan Tedder’s vocals are insane and the band’s talent and attention to detail and craftmanship was evident and felt with every rendition! The highlight of the night was when Ryan sat down at the piano and starting playing this intricate instrumental that was stunning and went on for at least 3 minutes, then transitioned smoothly into “Apologize”; then, with another graceful instrumental, slipped right into a cover of Sam Smith’s “Stay with Me”. That night was actual magic, and whenever I hear any One Republic song from their Native album, I’m mentally transported back to that concert.

3. Beautiful Day – Jamie Grace

Another pick-me-up type song. Love this artist and what she stands for.

4. No Gray – Jonathan McReynolds

The first time I heard this song was as a cover by some boys at a church’s music day that I’d visited. The guys sat down on stools with the guitar and did a stripped down version like this, and it was so touching and real and raw, I forgot I was in church in the best way possible. The song was so conversational and beautiful, that of course I had to head home and look it up and when I found it, it became a favorite. Again, I had the pleasure of seeing the artist perform in February this year at a spoken word concert and was not disappointed, not only by his talent but also his ministry!

5. Sparks – Hilary Duff

I love Hilary Duff, and Lizzie McGuire was obviously a childhood staple for me. I’ve listened to her music and when this one came out I thought it was cute. Still do!

6. Young Blood – Bea Miller

Everyone needs some kind of encouragement to face their days and I just liked the essence of this one. It felt relatable, and still is. Love her other music too!

7. You Don’t Know Me – Victorious Cast ft. Elizabeth Gillies

If you don’t know that I’m a kid by now, you don’t know me. See what I did there? But for real, this song and the show episode were great! I love Liz Gillies, she’s a vocal beast and actually wrote the song for her character. I always felt oddly connected to Jade West on the show, as “messed up” as she seemed; she was abrasive but she owned it. When she performed this song, it reminded me of a moment I feel like I’ve always wanted to have, in every aspect of it!

8. Still Into You – Paramore

The same year I attended the One Republic concert, I attended my first concert which was Fall Out Boy and Paramore’s Monument Tour. Seeing Hayley Williams live and in colour was truly an experience. The funny thing is that I wasn’t particularly a fan of Paramore before the concert. I knew a few of their songs prior to the concert, and I was only attending because a friend had invited to hang out with her and her friends. Before the concert, I made an effort to listen to their recent album and experiencing them come to life was surreal! The concert vibes were so chill, but electric at the same time, and it will always stand out in my mind.

9. I Can’t Make You Love Me – Priyanka Chopra

 

10. I Choose You – Sara Bareilles

 

I ran this exercise through again and here at those results:

  1. Here – Alessia Cara
  2. Sleeping with a Friend – Neon Trees
  3. Love Me Again – John Newman
  4. Closer – Tegan & Sara
  5. High – The Walls Group Ft. Lecrae
  6. Take Me Home – Cash Cash Ft. Bebe Rexha
  7. Renegades – X Ambassadors
  8. Zendaya – My Baby (Side note: I enjoyed  hearing this particular song again so much, I decided to pull up the whole album and listen to it again. It’s a bop and I serious don’t think she got enough credit for this body of work.)
  9. Drake – Underground Kings (Listened to this whole album before moving on)
  10. Kid Cudi – Sky Might Fall (Also stopped to listen to this album and it’s sequel right through as well because it was just that good.)

I’m a sucker for nostalgia so this was a fun one for me!

 

xoxo, from where my 7 dreams grow,

~Rynzi <3

4 thoughts on “Writing Challenge #2: Day 11

Leave a Reply

